Visionary planner wins Stan Perron Future Leader gong 

Property Council WA is proud to reveal the exciting amount of talent it has discovered on its quest to hunt out, nurture and mentor future industry leaders, awarding prizes to six outstanding young professionals in Perth last night.

Property Council WA’s Future Leaders awards recognise the efforts of young planners, designers, advisors, managers, surveyors and engineers and those in development and construction, with the overall winner crowned Stan Perron Future Leader of the Year, in honour of the late Stan Perron, an Australian Property Hall of Fame member.

This year’s Stan Perron Future Leader of the Year winner, Urbis associate director Sean Morrison, was the founder of FuturePerth, a not-for-profit group advocating for more growth and better designed density in Perth. Under his leadership, FuturePerth supported the Elizabeth Quay foreshore redevelopment, hosted public events to encourage a conversation about the best ways to breathe life into Perth’s CBD and contributed to discussions about burning election issues. He has worked for Urbis since 2008 and contributed to Urbis’ work  on the redevelopment of Westfield Stirling (formerly Westfield Innaloo), Dexus’ planned Carillion City redevelopment and the cutting edge P2 data centre for NEXTDC, under construction.

In delivering the Stan Perron Future Leader award, Perron Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Ross Robertson summed up the Perron Way as excellence in business with integrity and compassion, values that he said would underpin fulfilling careers.

“Companies that enjoy sustained success almost always have a very clearly defined set of values that are lived out by everyone in their organisation,” Mr Robertson told more than 100 young property professionals.

Property Council WA Executive Director Sandra Brewer said Mr Morrison, who also won the planning category, was a powerful advocate for great places, better communities and a more prosperous society achieved through well-designed urban density.

“Sean is passionate about quality of life in our future cities and in the power of development to deliver great outcomes,” Ms Brewer said.

“I want to congratulate Sean and each of the other Future Leader winners.”

The winners of the other Future Leader categories were Cox Architecture’s Tristan Morgan, for Design; DevelopmentWA’s Chanel Ridley, for Advisory; JLL’s Christine Johnston, for Management; KPMG SGA’s Andrew Tandianus, for Transaction, and DevelopmentWA’s Mariam Yaqub for Development & Construction.

“Each of these young leaders have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to making  Perth a great city with better places and spaces for the whole community,” Ms Brewer said. “They can be proud of the leadership role they have taken in contributing to a conversation about how we can create better designed, smarter cities.”

For media queries:   

Helen Shield | Senior Policy & Communications Advisor | M 0403 877 015 E [email protected]