2019 National Retirement Living Awards Finalists

54 nominations for Australia’s best retirement village managers, salespeople and projects have been received for the 2019 National Retirement Living Awards.

The awards are the leading recognition for excellence in Australia’s retirement living sector which now caters for around 200,000 Australians in more than 2,000 retirement villages across the country.

As the number of older Australians continues to rise (more than 3.8 million Australians are now aged 65 and over) the retirement living sector will play an increasingly important role in providing affordable and good quality housing choices for this group.

The National Retirement Living Awards recognise the contribution and achievements across all areas of the retirement living sector, by the people and companies helping ensure older Australians have an enjoyable retirement.

The Chair of the judging panel, Tracy Dare, commented: “This year’s nominations were of an exceptionally high calibre. Much discussion and debate was had by the judging panel in seeking to determine the ultimate winners.

“We are incredibly proud of the nominees and thank them and those that took the time to nominate them. We look forward to announcing the winners in November,” Ms Dare said.

State and territory winners of the Programmed Award for Village Manager of the Year will be announced at events hosted by the Property Council of Australia in the lead up to the presentation of the national awards at the National Retirement Living Awards Gala Dinner on the Gold Coast on 21 November 2019.

Programmed Award for Village Manager of the Year


Ben Cadwallader, Ardency Terbartha (Lendlease)

Gail Eyres, Glenhaven (Living Choice Australia)

Bernard Van Koersveld, Henry Kendall Gardens (Lendlease)

Julie Ramage, Forresters Beach (Retire Australia)

Fiona Russell, Maybrook Retirement Village (Stockland)


Jenny Ball, Aveo The Parks (Aveo)

Lesley Carron, The Lakes Retirement Villages (Lendlease)

Tina Saunders, Cleveland and Wellington Manor (RetireAustralia)

Colleen Taylor, IRT The Palms (IRT Group)


Debbie Dean, Glengowrie and Scarborough Mews Retirement Villages (RetireAustralia)

Vicki Neilson, Elliot Gardens (Lendlease)

Leon Shearer, Aveo The Braes (Aveo)


Fiona Abbott, Martha’s Point Retirement Village (Lendlease)

Ross Dunning, Rylands of Hawthorn (Arcadia Group)

Eric Wegman, Selandra Rise (Stockland)


Tarryn Bates, Parkland Villas Booragoon (Lendlease)

Cheryl Clark, RAAFA Amity Village Albany (Air Force Association WA / RAAFA)

Paul Elson, Arcadia Waters Geraldton (Arcadia Group)

Ingenia Communities Award for Future Retirement Living Leader

Anna Ganko (Stockland)

Renee Jarron (Pascoe Vale Gardens Retirement Village)

Courtney Raven (Stockland)

Nidhi Saunders (Lendlease)

Imagine Projects Award for Salesperson of the Year

Jane Flynn (Stockland)

John Lecky (Lendlease)

Heidi Pratt (Lendlease)

Sheree Richardson (Ingenia Communities)

Peta Smith (Lendlease)

Novas Award for Retirement Living Innovation

St Patrick’s Green, Kogarah (Greengate Partnership Pty Ltd)

Jackson McDonald’s Retirement Online Contract Creation System (Jackson McDonald)

The Residences at Cardinal Freeman (Stockland)

Benefits+ Partnership Program (Stockland)

Stockland’s Shine Birtinya (Stockland)

Serviced Apartments Home Care Brokerage Model (Stockland)

Keeley Green Interior Design Award for Best Refurbishment

Ardency Trebartha (Lendlease)

Gillin Park Retirement Village (Stockland)

nettletontribe Award for Design Excellence

Aveo Bella Vista (Aveo)

The Terraces, Paddington (Cottee Parker Architects)

The Benson (Demaine Partnership)

The Central by Goodwin (Goodwin Aged Care Services)

St Patrick’s Green, Kogarah (Greengate Partnership Pty Ltd)

Carmelite (Southern Cross Care (SA&NT) Inc)

The Residences at Cardinal Freeman (Stockland)

Stockland’s Shine Birtinya (Stockland)

Wise Agency Award for Marketing Excellence

Aveo Carindale (Aveo)

Aveo Food Campaign (Aveo)

Plantations by Ingenia Lifestyle (Ingenia Communities)

More information on the 2019 National Retirement Living Awards is available from http://www.retirementlivingawards.com.au


Media contact: Andrew Lowcock | M 0447 666 902 | E [email protected]