New President Takes the Property Helm at Critical Time for Canberra

ACT Executive Director, Adina Cirson has announced that today, a new President has been elected to head up Canberra’s Property Council of Australia.  Chief Executive Officer of Village Building Company, Travis Doherty commenced his term today, following a special meeting of the ACT Division. 

“Travis takes up the role from outgoing President, George Katheklakis from KDN Group who stepped down from the role.  He brings not only his experience of leading Village Building Company, but 25 years’ experience in executive leadership positions across a range of industries including property development and construction, financial services, manufacturing and professional services. 

Arabella Rohde, Senior Development Manager at Lendlease Development and Phil O’Brien from Amalgamated Property Group were also elected as Vice President’s for the same term.

“The Leadership team elected today provides a breadth of industry expertise, critical to engaging with the ACT Government and the community at time critical in managing and planning for growth in our city,” Adina Cirson said.

Incoming President Travis Doherty said he felt immense pride at being asked to step into the role at such a critical time.

“Canberra is undergoing a period of huge transformation, and never has it been more important than now to get the strategic planning and infrastructure needed for our city to meet the needs of our community, Mr Doherty said.

“As our city grows and transforms, we must also keep in mind the role we can play for our neighbours as the city which is the economic heart of our region. 

“That means we have to plan our city to meet the needs of not just Canberrans, but position ourselves strategically to encourage investment and economic growth of our city for the more than 1 million people who live and work in the region.

“The challenge remains – how we keep the very best of what we all love about Canberra, but grow up to the be the city we want to become and there is enormous potential and opportunity in that.

“Key to this is ensuring that issues like fair taxes and charges, outcomes focused planning, genuine housing choice for Canberrans, building design and quality and delivering density and liveability along transport corridors remain front and centre for everyone in our community.

“I look forward to advocating on these critical issues during the biggest period of urban renewal our city has ever seen,” Mr Doherty concluded.

Please see full list of Division Council Members appointed

Media contact:  Adina Cirson |M 0429 579 972|E [email protected]

Travis Doherty, Chief Executive Officer, Village Building Company

Travis was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Village Building Company on 1 July 2016 after joining the group as deputy CEO in 2015. Travis has close to 25 years’ experience in executive leadership positions across a range of industries including property development and construction, financial services, manufacturing and professional services.

An entrepreneurial and values-based leader with a strong background in developing and motivating teams, Travis maintains a strong commercial focus and has a proven track record of delivering successful outcomes. He is passionate about enhancing customer experience and shareholder value, and developing a high performance culture. In his time with Village, Travis has maintained a commitment to engaging with and giving back to local communities. In 2018, the company announced a partnership with Hands Across Canberra, with the proceeds of a Village-constructed house to be donated to Canberra’s most vulnerable people.

Prior to joining Village, Travis held senior positions at NAB over a nine-year period including as General Manager of various operational business units, CEO of Anchorage Home Loans and Director of Vipro, an industry utility with NAB, CBA, Westpac and CBA.. Travis also spent 8 years at Ernst & Young Melbourne and the UK, and 3 years at Simplot Australia in various client engagement and leadership positions.

Arabella Rohde, Senior Development Manager, Lendlease Development, Retirement Living

With nearly 20 years in the property and construction industry, Arabella has a background in property development, urban planning and sustainable development and has held many diverse roles across Australia. Her industry experience includes a wide range private and government projects in commercial, residential, retirement living, education, health and infrastructure.

Arabella’s experience includes all stages of the property development, including project inception, design, delivery and asset operation. Arabella is actively involved in the property sector in ACT and is regularly involved in coordination of submissions and representation to government in relation to property and policy matters.

Phil O’Brien, General Manager, Amalgamated Property Group

With over 25 years’ experience in the Australian property sector, Phil O’Brien has with been with  Amalgamated Property Group (APG) since its inception in 2002. As General Manager, Phil oversees the Group’s management and strategic direction.

Thanks to his intimate understanding of the development process, Phil has been able to deliver a string of award-winning commercial and residential developments, including the Louisa Lawson Building, Manhattan on the Park, and Amaya. Currently, he is Project Director for the Civic Quarter: a premier office development which is set to become the first ever WELL, Green Star and NABERS rated building in Canberra.

In addition, Phil also heads up the design teams for two other premier Canberra sites: Anzac Park East and Constitution Avenue. Both acquired by APG from the Commonwealth in 2018, these will be the first major private developments undertaken in the parliamentary triangle – a landmark achievement indeed.

Prior to joining APG, Phil was responsible for the leasing and management of Mirvac’s Capital Property Trust portfolio in Canberra – and his commercial experience spans lease negotiations, divestment analysis, asset planning, lease and contract administration.

ACT Division Council – Property Council of Australia 2019-2021




Mr Travis Doherty


The Village Building Company

Ms Arabella Rohde

Vice President


Mr Phil O’Brien

Vice President

Amalgamated Property Group

Mr Andrew Balzanelli

Management Committee


Ms Fiona Doherty

Management Committee

Rider Levett Bucknall

Mr Alastair MacCallum

Management Committee

AMC Architecture

Mr Chris Wheeler

Management Committee

King & Wood Mallesons

Mr Martin Elliott

Council Member

Knight Frank Valuations & Advisory Canberra

Ms Rose Giorgi

Council Member

Cushman & Wakefield

Mr Medy Hassan

Council Member

Haus Holdings

Mr Rowan Hindmarsh

Council Member

Hindmarsh Development Australia

Ms Janukshi Jamonts

Council Member

Myer Vandenberg Lawyers

Mr George D. Katheklakis

Immediate Past President

KDN Group

Mr Greg Lyons

Council Member

LJ Hooker Commercial

Mr Nick McDonald Crowley

Council Member

Capital Airport Group

Ms Eleni Notaras

Council Member

Notaras Commercial

Ms Mary O’Neill

Council Member

Bond Projects

Mr Guy Randell

Council Member

Burgess Rawson